Skip to content

a toast to my dad- happy father’s day

June 20, 2009
Dad, if you’re reading this- Happy Father’s Day.
This post today is dedicated to my dad on the occasion of the above mentioned day.
Thanks dad, along with mom, for bringing me into this world. I wish I could go back in time and see the happiness on your face when I was born. And I hope I still bring the same joy to you even today.
Do forgive me for the mischievousness’ and naughtiness’ this kid brought along, but it’s all because of the way you brought me up, I am what I am. Till date I don’t know why, but you’re still my idol. And I repeat, I seriously don’t know why.
When I heard for the first time and now when I recall the stories about your childhood, teens and when you became a doctor and tried your hand at learning and speaking English, they were funny in a manner but there was spark behind all of them, which ignited in me too slowly without me ever knowing it.
People have innumerable times have said- Sahil is so similar to Shamim. And every time I heard that, be it in respect to whatever, it felt nice.
You’ve silently stood by my side. So silent that even a leaf wouldn’t rustle. And when time came, you’ve been the delighted breeze.
Weirdly I always fall short of words for those whom I love a lot. All I want to say at the end is-
I love you, Dad. And I hope I am just as respected by near and dear ones as you are when I am of your age.

dad

Dad, if you’re reading this- Happy Father’s Day.

This post today is dedicated to my dad on the occasion of the above mentioned day.

Thanks dad, along with mom, for bringing me into this world. I wish I could go back in time and see the happiness on your face when I was born. And I hope I still bring the same joy to you even today.

Do forgive me for the mischievousness’ and naughtiness’ this kid brought along, but it’s all because of the way you brought me up, I am what I am. Till date I don’t know why, but you’re still my idol. And I repeat, I seriously don’t know why.

When I heard for the first time and now when I recall the stories about your childhood, teens and when you became a doctor and tried your hand at learning and speaking English, they were funny in a manner but there was spark behind all of them, which ignited in me too slowly without me ever knowing it.

People have innumerable times have said- Sahil is so similar to Shamim. And every time I heard that, be it in respect to whatever, it felt nice.

You’ve silently stood by my side. So silent that even a leaf wouldn’t rustle. And when time came, you’ve been the delighted breeze.

Weirdly I always fall short of words for those whom I love a lot. All I want to say at the end is-

I love you, Dad. And I hope I am just as respected by near and dear ones as you are when I am of your age.

Funny I realise now that I hardly have any digital shots of me dad. Hmm.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 12:57 pm

    I am sure ur dad will be proud of u 🙂

    “The older we get, the smarter our father’s seems to get.” -Tim Russert
    – Happy Fathers Day to all the awesome dads!

  2. June 24, 2009 9:58 pm

    Hope…every SON in this world feels the same about his DAD…..as u do…

    & every one plzz be proud of ur parents…as they r the ones…who gave us d right to b in this world…..& made silent sacrifices for us…which we might not realise now…..but later on…it might be too late to thank them & tell them that we love them….

    so “HAPPY FATHERS DAY TO ALL THE DADS” & TO MOMS AS WELL…..

    🙂

  3. swadha permalink
    July 5, 2009 4:26 am

    BeaUtiFuL…….. m sure ur dad muss b so proud ov yuu……..

  4. October 15, 2009 9:46 pm

    That’s a sweet post, Sahil!

    Happy birthday to your Dad. 🙂

    • October 16, 2009 12:32 am

      thanks poonam. but umm, hppy bday to my dad? this was a hppy father’s day post. 😛

  5. March 23, 2010 1:59 am

    hey…i can relate lot to this post in a few ways i cant really explain. bt i guess this explains wat i feel about ur post! cheers!

    • March 23, 2010 2:05 am

      nice to know that you can relate to it. many a times people aren’t able to say what they want, and usually find meaning in songs or words said by another. probably just that phase for you now.

  6. Mehr permalink
    June 20, 2010 7:39 pm

    beautiful sentiment…cheers to this all fathers…!

Leave a Reply

