Skip to content

What you should take away from MNIK in these times.

February 28, 2010

I just got back from My Name is Khan. No, this isn’t a movie review. It’s what I left with from the hall. And I hope everyone else did so. If you haven’t, recollect the film and then read ahead.

It might’ve been a just-another-muslim-not-terrorist movie from the Dharma band camp. I really don’t care how the direction, acting, music, etc was. Looking at the current situation of the world, I even don’t care about the autistic character and his intelligence. No offence there, but what I really care about are those lines Raziya Khan told her son.

When an innocent life dies, the entire humanity pays.

Rizwan’s determination to meet the President might’ve been hard to digest for most, so for that very reason, let’s remove the President from the scenario. What do we have left? The determination of one man. Irrespective of issues he might’ve faced, he went ahead. If we look at it, the autism brought a certain innocence in the character, that of a child; a child who wants to touch the sky, a child who only knows love. Maybe that’s what helped Rizwan reach his goal.

Why aren’t we able to make that same difference in our lives?

Because we are busy trying to support our so called lives, earn a livelihood and survive in the community of social animals.

Yesterday I was at a group meet in the city, and had a small discussion on what is a business and a startup, and in turn leading to who is a businessman and an entrepreneur. Everyone has their own perception. The net worth and market growth is used to draw the line between the two. I opine differently. It isn’t the risk factor either as I used to mention earlier. Passion, it is.

Do what you like, and things come to you. Including money. Last week when I tweeted “God helps those who help themselves”, Navin Kabra applied a thought to the same and replied, “God helps those who do things out of passion and not personal need”. And I agree with him.

Had I started TheTossedSalad.com to make money, I would’ve shut it down long time back as I haven’t been able to generate traffic yet. And I would’ve lost the opportunity of creating a brand with time. The belief of two professors, one in my eye for design and another’s in my ability to bring results to the table, made me a freelance designer and today with Three November Designs. My love for food and hope to have my own restaurant to take that love to as many as possible, has me as a partner in an egg specialty outlet called Yolkshire. But these never started with the desire to make money.

I know it may seem preachy and blah blah blah, and you’re right. If I were in your shoes, I would think the same. But one incident changed that thought process.

After the German Bakery blast, the next morning I landed in Pune and the first thing I did was to gather friends for a peace walk. I didn’t know it would become a fund raiser. Never knew that 300+ people would turn up. Neither thought that every paper in the city, IBN-CNN, NDTV and BBC would talk about the efforts. I couldn’t believe that folks in Canada who had visited Pune some time back were trying to raise funds and send it to us. Never expected a call from the biggest band in India offering to help us raise the amount via a charity concert. Possibility of some really big names showing support? Never figured it could happen.

But today, it is true. Because I know Shrinath and I did it with faith in humanity. We hope to stay determined not only for this cause, but for every other one.

Maybe I could not preach this by telling our story, so I brought up Shahrukh’s character in My Name is Khan. These silver screen stars are looked up to by millions. Maybe their efforts to send a message wrapped in commerce motivate and inspire a few to take that step. Love, compassion and faith in yourself and humanity can take you a long way. Give it a shot when you get up tomorrow morning.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 9:47 pm

    At the end of the day, passion drives the pursuit of a certain goal. Cinema is just another medium propagating this ideology. Your efforts at different ventures may not be the best entrepreneurial moves; but in the long run, they’ll stand you in good stead simply because of the conscientious mind that works behind it. Sahil Khan, kudos !

    • March 3, 2010 10:07 pm

      thanks a lot rhea. i hope my efforts pay off in the long run as you said.

  2. March 3, 2010 9:57 pm

    lovely pozt, sahil! 🙂

  3. March 6, 2010 12:40 pm

    I love this post! You spoke from the heart and your belief reflect themselves in your words….and i agree with every thought you’ve laid out.
    Glad I found your blog. Will be back

    • March 6, 2010 1:02 pm

      hi A, nice to hear from you. glad you loved the post. seems you’re a big foodie from your blog. love the pics from flickr stream. 🙂

  4. March 9, 2010 11:28 am

    Thanks :)…love photography…so much to learn!….and yeah…a big foodie….i love to cook and i love to eat :D. restaurant is on my cards someday too 🙂

    • March 9, 2010 1:20 pm

      im dying to get my hands on a slr. almost killed my poor yet awesome point and shoot. based out of pune? lemme know if u need any help with the restro in the future. and i’d love to drop by once opened.

  5. March 10, 2010 12:21 pm

    Will hold you on that offer 🙂 no idea yet where my restaurant will be based! Still figuring lots of stuff!

  6. March 23, 2010 1:53 am

    yes i agree with you when u say that when things are done with true spirit and passion, they always give results… but the catch here is not be result oriented and then work. if you hold on to your spirits, im sure you’ll do wonders.. all the best!

    • March 23, 2010 2:00 am

      yes, like always, there’s a catch. find a cause attached to that end result. my desire to open a restaurant bcoz i love food and people, and not to make money has brought me here. my horror at the complete disrespect to lifestyle being showcased as fashion, bollywood and page3 made me start the magazine.

      what happens, god knows. all i do is keep my fingers crossed and do my best possible.

Leave a Reply

